January 6, 2020 Reorganization Meeting – Council Chambers Millersburg, Pennsylvania

<u>Meeting Call to Order</u> – Mayor Richard Ibberson called to order the Reorganization Meeting of the Millersburg Borough Council at 7:03PM with Cl'ms Boyer, Dietz and Ibberson present. Manager McGann and Secretary Jackson were also present. The invocation was given by Cl'm Dietz, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Guests</u> – Sean Grimm, Rebecca Hoch, Douglas Rubendall, Susan Rubendall, Ashton Snyder.

<u>Presentation of Certificates of Election</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that all Certificates of Election have been received.

<u>Swearing in of Newly Elected Council Members</u> – Secretary Jackson administered the Oath of Office to Brian S. Hoch and Colby T. Snyder as Councilmembers.

Nomination and Election of Council President – Mayor Ibberson conducted the election of Council President, calling for nominations. Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to nominate Cl'm Dietz for President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Ibberson declared Cl'm Dietz Borough Council President.

The meeting was then turned over to President Dietz.

Nomination and Election of Council Vice President — President Dietz called for nominations for Council Vice President. Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to nominate Cl'm Ibberson for the office of Vice President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and President Dietz declared Cl'm Ibberson Borough Council Vice President.

Nomination and Election of Council President Pro-Tempore – President Dietz called for nominations for Council President Pro Tempore. Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to nominate Cl'm Boyer for the office of President Pro Tempore. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and President Dietz declared Cl'm Boyer Borough Council President Pro Tempore.

<u>Appointment of Vacancy Board Chairman</u> – No action taken.

<u>Appointment of Solicitor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Terrence J. Kerwin of Kerwin and Kerwin as Borough Solicitor for the next two years. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Engineers</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoch, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to appoint Gannett Fleming as Borough Engineers for the next two years. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Auditor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to appoint J. H. Williams as Borough Auditor for 2020. Motion carried.

Appointment of Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to appoint the Borough Manager as the Borough's Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator. The Borough Manager hereby deputizes Commonwealth Code Inspection Services as Deputy Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator. Motion carried.

Appointment of Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Sean Grimm and John Brabits as

Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator respectively. Motion carried. EMC Grimm would like all municipal elected officials to take NIMS training IS-100 and IS-700.

<u>Appointment of Borough Manager</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Chris McGann as Borough Manager through January 17, 2020. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Secretary-Treasurer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Ann Bowman Jackson as Borough Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

<u>Millersburg Planning Commission - Appointment to Four-Year Term</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Dana Bellis to a four-year term on the Millersburg Planning Commission. Motion carried.

<u>Millersburg Fire Company #1 Auditor – Borough Representative – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to reappoint Ann Jackson to serve as the Borough's representative for the Fire Company's 2019 audit. Motion carried.</u>

<u>Millersburg Area Authority - Appointment to Five-Year Term</u> - Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Bennett Boyer to a five-year term on the Millersburg Area Authority Board. Motion carried.

<u>Upper Dauphin Industrial Development Authority – Appointment to a Five-Year Term</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that Harold Engle's term has ended but she is waiting for a response on his intentions regarding reappointment.

Zoning Hearing Board - Appointment to Three-Year Term and Appointment to a Vacancy (Two-Year Term) - Secretary Jackson reported that Craig Zimmerman's term has ended and Dennis Maloskey reportedly no longer lives in the Borough. There are no likely candidates for either position at this time.

<u>Property Maintenance Appeals Board - Appointment to Three-Year Term and Appointment to a Three-Year Term (Alternate)</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to reappoint Deborah Hershey and Larry Conley to three terms as Property Maintenance Appeals Board member and alternate respectively. Motion carried.

Council agreed to put the open spots of two Zoning Hearing Board members, one Vacancy Board Chairman and two Borough Council members on the Borough's website, Facebook page and in the Upper Dauphin Sentinel as a press release. Responses are to be directed to Secretary Jackson by February 12, 2020.

Unfinished Business – None.

New Business

<u>Committee Assignments</u> – The following Committee Chairmen were named: Parks & Rec. – Chairman Boyer; Economic Development – Chairman Dietz; Public Safety – Chairman Ibberson; Streets – Chairman Hoch. Cl'm Snyder was asked to consider chairing one of the remaining Committees.

Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to adjourn the meeting at 7:35PM. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann Bowman Jackson Borough Secretary